South Africa has nine provinces and each province has its own provincial government, with legislative power vested in a provincial legislature and executive power vested in a provincial premier and exercised together with the other members of a provincial executive council.

The national government is composed of three inter-connected branches:

  • Legislative: Parliament, consisting of the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces
  • Executive: The President, who is both Head of State and Head of Government
  • Judicial: The Constitutional Court, the Supreme Court of Appeal, and the High Court
  • All bodies of the South African government are subject to the rule of the Constitution, which is the supreme law in South Africa.
For more information regarding departmental structures, please click on the following links:
Eastern Cape Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs
​An integrated, responsive and highly effective governance system, including communities, to achieve sustainable development and improved service delivery. One of the important strategic objectives is to oversee the implementation of the intergovernmental e of support to the Institution of Traditonal Leadership to perform their constitutional mandate.
Eastern Cape of Department of Economic Development, Environmental Affairs and Tourism
​It aims to spearhead growth and development of the provinicial economy through provincial owned entities such as the Eastern Cape Development Corporation, the Eastern Cape Gambling and Betting Board as well as the Eastern Cape Parks and Tourism Agency. It is also the lead driver on a number of initiatives such as the auto cluster and the Wild Coast Development.
Eastern Cape Department of Health
​The Deparment of Health is united in achieving quality health care for all in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Eastern Cape Department of Human Settlements ​The Department of Human Settlements is responsible for developing sustainable intergrated human settlements in the Eastern Cape.
Eastern Cape Department of Public Works and Infrastructure
​A custodian of provincial government immovable assets and a provider of sustainable infrastructure resulting in socio-economic reforms, sector transformation and development.
Eastern Cape Department of Rural Development and Agrarian Reform
​The strategic goal is to improve rural economic livelihoods through creation of employment opportunities and coordinate, facilitate and report on rural development. Within Agricultural development a strategic goal is to enhance a thriving farming sector and enable access to affordable food where the objecitve is support farmers with appropriate cropping, livestock production and technologies to ensure sustainable livelihoods.
Eastern Cape Department of Community Safety
​The Mission is to make the Eastern Cape the leading province in providing a safe and secure environment which supports maximum growth and development through liaison with the relevant stakeholders.
Eastern Cape Department of Social Development
The Department of Social Development is committed to the agnda of social transformation that is embodied in the principle in the principal of social justice and the Bill of Rights contained in our Constitution.
Eastern Cape Department of Sports, Recreation and Arts and Culture
​The mission is to promote a prosperous, united and peaceful Eastern Cape where the spiritual, intellectual and material upliftment of the people is fully d through Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture by: Increasing mass participation, accessing of facilities and resources, developing skills and excellence and preserving and conserving our cultural and natural heritage, thus ensuring the dignity of all citizens and thereby recostructing and developint our nation.
Eastern Cape Department of Transport
​The Department of Transport is responsible for regulation of Transportation in the Eastern Cape.
Eastern Cape Provincial Treasury
​The department provides four key services that underpin the four programmes it runs. The services include Managing strategic initiatives of the department and the province, managing provincial resources in a sustainable manner, managing the assets and liabilities of the province and ensuring sound financial governance in the province.
Eastern Cape Department of Education
​The department provides learners with opportunities to become productive and responsible citizens through quality basic education.
Eastern Cape Department of Human Settlements
​A department at the centre of creating integrated and sustainable human settlements in the Eastern Cape. It facilitates and coordinate provision of quality, integrated and sustainable human settlements that offer our communities a better living environment.
Eastern Cape Office of the Premier
​A department responsible for co-ordinating functions of the provincial administration through provision of strategic leadership in policy development, planning and implementation.
© 2021 - 2023 Office of the Premier, Eastern Cape